Jump to content


Looking For A Laptop That Can Run Rs Smoothly


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:17 AM

my current laptop has horrible fps, almost so bad where i rarely play now because of lag. the reason i want a laptop not a pc is because i move and travel a lot so pc is out of the question. Im not looking to play in hd on best settings. Id rather play min settings for less lag. Dont really have a price range but i dont want to spend over $700 tbh. I dont have a lot of computer knowledge :P
Posted Image

#2 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    Lead the charge

  • Posts:9,646
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:21 AM

What are the specs of your current laptop if I may ask?

Just so you know, the FPS problem is associated with the botnuke which changed the game engine dramatically. It may not be worth getting a new one if your laptop already has decent specs as they are trying for a fix.

Edited by Kevin♫, 18 April 2012 - 11:22 AM.

Join ZChat - Zybez Friends Chat | AoTM Staff
Posted Image
Global Moderator | Recruiting Leader | Clan Discussion Staff | General Discussion Staff

Posted Image


#3 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM

its an hp pavilion. AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60, with 3.00 GB. I understand about the whole bot nuke thing making it more laggy but it doesnt seem that their going to fix that anytime soon as it happened 6 months ago. i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.
Posted Image

#4 My Fallen Hero

My Fallen Hero

    Member

  • Posts:50
  • Joined:11-December 07
  • RS Name:Stifler
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:40 AM

View PostGTFODEEZNUTZ, on 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM, said:

i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.

exactly the same here, i am fed up of playing on low settings thought hence i want a new pc :)

good luck.

#5 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

View PostMy Fallen Hero, on 18 April 2012 - 11:40 AM, said:

View PostGTFODEEZNUTZ, on 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM, said:

i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.

exactly the same here, i am fed up of playing on low settings thought hence i want a new pc :)

good luck.
exactly its gotten to the point where i cant pvm and im not a big fan of skilling so i almost dont even wanna play =[
Posted Image

#6 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    Lead the charge

  • Posts:9,646
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:51 AM

It appears that AMD processors are effected most by the botnuke. Don't quote me on that, but I heard that from a few places (RSOF topics). You can easily get one that can handle RS with max settings with $700. As I said, AMD processors were affected mostly by the nuke for reasons unknown. So, if you get one, try and get an Intel Core i5 for example.

Edited by Kevin♫, 18 April 2012 - 11:52 AM.

Join ZChat - Zybez Friends Chat | AoTM Staff
Posted Image
Global Moderator | Recruiting Leader | Clan Discussion Staff | General Discussion Staff

Posted Image


#7 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:54 AM

what do you think is the cheapest i couild spend to get one that ran without any lag on min settings? and if anyone would like to link me to any examples i would be more then grateful =]

Edited by GTFODEEZNUTZ, 18 April 2012 - 11:55 AM.

Posted Image

#8 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    Lead the charge

  • Posts:9,646
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:57 AM

Do you play other games besides Runescape? It might be worth taking into account those as well.

The problem is with finding a minimum requirement... my laptop is older so I got it for less than $400. According to Jagex it can run RS on minimum settings easily, but it doesn't due to the botnuke problem.

Join ZChat - Zybez Friends Chat | AoTM Staff
Posted Image
Global Moderator | Recruiting Leader | Clan Discussion Staff | General Discussion Staff

Posted Image


#9 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:01 PM

nope only runescape. what specs do you think could run rs on min settings?
Posted Image

#10 a despair

a despair

    legend

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:28 PM

Toshiba l675 laptop, full screen 50 fps :D

Posted Image

#Jaja Making bank since '04

State of dont panic:

(19:03:29) <Stillfly> its 10 am on a sunday night

(18:25:26) <Own> Gratz u killed 1 dp member for 50m..wowww


#11 Jet Planes

Jet Planes

    Tol

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:31 PM

if you want another HP, this one should be good for you

http://www.shopping....ting/g6s_series

theres an i3 on there website for like $100, but might as well spend the $100 for an i5 and be happier good luck!

Posted Image

Past name = Goldknight21


#12 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:59 PM

View Posta despair, on 18 April 2012 - 12:28 PM, said:

Toshiba l675 laptop, full screen 50 fps :D
lucky you =p how much did it cost?

View PostJet Planes, on 18 April 2012 - 12:31 PM, said:

if you want another HP, this one should be good for you

http://www.shopping....ting/g6s_series

theres an i3 on there website for like $100, but might as well spend the $100 for an i5 and be happier good luck!
do you think this laptop would be lag free? i don really care what kind it is if its hp or not just as long as it doesnt lag =p
Posted Image

#13 Jet Planes

Jet Planes

    Tol

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:31 PM

I'm pretty sure, but might want to wait and see a few replies just in case

Posted Image

Past name = Goldknight21


#14 Dervyy

Dervyy

    Chihuahua Squad Captain

  • Posts:645
  • Joined:10-July 09
  • RS Status:Retired
  • Team:Dont Panic

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:18 AM

I bought my Laptop. It's a standard i3-2310M, Toshiba Satellite C660D, boosted to 6GB Ram. I spent £400 on this, so I'd say around $450-£500 for you Americans? I run RS amazingly. I get the odd lag-spike, but who doesn't? I can handle RS easily in full HD, just the G.E got me down to 15-20FPS ever since the new graphics update =/

Posted Image

Proud to of been an Ancient Fury | Intro | Future Applicant | Member | Member of the Month | Senior Member | Retired


#15 Azeem1992

Azeem1992

    L33T

Posted 24 April 2012 - 12:38 AM

What is your GPU?
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Font:
Arial | Calibri | Lucida Console | Verdana
 
Font Size:
9px | 10px | 11px | 12px | 10pt | 12pt
 
Color: