Jump to content


Looking For A Laptop That Can Run Rs Smoothly


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:17 AM

my current laptop has horrible fps, almost so bad where i rarely play now because of lag. the reason i want a laptop not a pc is because i move and travel a lot so pc is out of the question. Im not looking to play in hd on best settings. Id rather play min settings for less lag. Dont really have a price range but i dont want to spend over $700 tbh. I dont have a lot of computer knowledge :P
Posted Image

#2 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    You were gravely mistaken

  • Posts:10,549
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:21 AM

What are the specs of your current laptop if I may ask?

Just so you know, the FPS problem is associated with the botnuke which changed the game engine dramatically. It may not be worth getting a new one if your laptop already has decent specs as they are trying for a fix.

Edited by Kevin♫, 18 April 2012 - 11:22 AM.

Posted Image
"Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win."
- Sun Tzu (Art of War)


#3 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM

its an hp pavilion. AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60, with 3.00 GB. I understand about the whole bot nuke thing making it more laggy but it doesnt seem that their going to fix that anytime soon as it happened 6 months ago. i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.
Posted Image

#4 My Fallen Hero

My Fallen Hero

    Member

  • Posts:50
  • Joined:11-December 07
  • RS Name:Stifler
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:40 AM

View PostGTFODEEZNUTZ, on 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM, said:

i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.

exactly the same here, i am fed up of playing on low settings thought hence i want a new pc :)

good luck.

#5 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:43 AM

View PostMy Fallen Hero, on 18 April 2012 - 11:40 AM, said:

View PostGTFODEEZNUTZ, on 18 April 2012 - 11:37 AM, said:

i normally have 10-15 fps when im playing and a lot less if there is a crowd near.

exactly the same here, i am fed up of playing on low settings thought hence i want a new pc :)

good luck.
exactly its gotten to the point where i cant pvm and im not a big fan of skilling so i almost dont even wanna play =[
Posted Image

#6 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    You were gravely mistaken

  • Posts:10,549
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:51 AM

It appears that AMD processors are effected most by the botnuke. Don't quote me on that, but I heard that from a few places (RSOF topics). You can easily get one that can handle RS with max settings with $700. As I said, AMD processors were affected mostly by the nuke for reasons unknown. So, if you get one, try and get an Intel Core i5 for example.

Edited by Kevin♫, 18 April 2012 - 11:52 AM.

Posted Image
"Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win."
- Sun Tzu (Art of War)


#7 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:54 AM

what do you think is the cheapest i couild spend to get one that ran without any lag on min settings? and if anyone would like to link me to any examples i would be more then grateful =]

Edited by GTFODEEZNUTZ, 18 April 2012 - 11:55 AM.

Posted Image

#8 Kevin♫

Kevin♫

    You were gravely mistaken

  • Posts:10,549
  • Joined:21-January 07
  • RS Name:King Bradley
  • RS Status:Oldschool

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:57 AM

Do you play other games besides Runescape? It might be worth taking into account those as well.

The problem is with finding a minimum requirement... my laptop is older so I got it for less than $400. According to Jagex it can run RS on minimum settings easily, but it doesn't due to the botnuke problem.

Posted Image
"Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win."
- Sun Tzu (Art of War)


#9 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:01 PM

nope only runescape. what specs do you think could run rs on min settings?
Posted Image

#10 a despair

a despair

    legend

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:28 PM

Toshiba l675 laptop, full screen 50 fps :D

Posted Image

#Jaja Making bank since '04

State of dont panic:

(19:03:29) <Stillfly> its 10 am on a sunday night

(18:25:26) <Own> Gratz u killed 1 dp member for 50m..wowww


#11 Jet Planes

Jet Planes

    Tol

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:31 PM

if you want another HP, this one should be good for you

http://www.shopping....ting/g6s_series

theres an i3 on there website for like $100, but might as well spend the $100 for an i5 and be happier good luck!

Posted Image

Past name = Goldknight21


#12 GTFODEEZNUTZ

GTFODEEZNUTZ

    Member

  • Posts:69
  • Joined:29-April 11
  • RS Name:Lethal Fadez
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:59 PM

View Posta despair, on 18 April 2012 - 12:28 PM, said:

Toshiba l675 laptop, full screen 50 fps :D
lucky you =p how much did it cost?

View PostJet Planes, on 18 April 2012 - 12:31 PM, said:

if you want another HP, this one should be good for you

http://www.shopping....ting/g6s_series

theres an i3 on there website for like $100, but might as well spend the $100 for an i5 and be happier good luck!
do you think this laptop would be lag free? i don really care what kind it is if its hp or not just as long as it doesnt lag =p
Posted Image

#13 Jet Planes

Jet Planes

    Tol

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:31 PM

I'm pretty sure, but might want to wait and see a few replies just in case

Posted Image

Past name = Goldknight21


#14 Dervyy

Dervyy

    Chihuahua Squad Captain

  • Posts:651
  • Joined:10-July 09
  • RS Status:Retired
  • Team:Dont Panic

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:18 AM

I bought my Laptop. It's a standard i3-2310M, Toshiba Satellite C660D, boosted to 6GB Ram. I spent £400 on this, so I'd say around $450-£500 for you Americans? I run RS amazingly. I get the odd lag-spike, but who doesn't? I can handle RS easily in full HD, just the G.E got me down to 15-20FPS ever since the new graphics update =/

Posted Image

Proud to of been an Ancient Fury | Intro | Future Applicant | Member | Member of the Month | Senior Member | Retired


#15 Azeem1992

Azeem1992

    L33T

Posted 24 April 2012 - 12:38 AM

What is your GPU?
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Font:
Arial | Calibri | Lucida Console | Verdana
 
Font Size:
9px | 10px | 11px | 12px | 10pt | 12pt
 
Color: