Jump to content


What Is The Best Browser For Runescape?

Runescape problem

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 MrBaws24

MrBaws24

    STFU the Baws is talking

  • Posts:130
  • Joined:29-December 11
  • RS Name:MrBaws24
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:32 AM

I made an earlier thread about it, but you can just delete it.

What is the best browser for Runescape?
Swiftkit seems good, but which works best?
Your signature has been removed because it was breaking the rules of this community. It was too big (either too wide or too tall) and/or its file-size was too large. To find out more, please see our Help & Rules Section. Please ensure that you fix your signature according to the rules before putting it up again. Otherwise, you may be banned. If you need any help, feel free to contact me. Thanks, Aragon

#2 Daz121994

Daz121994

    ★★★★★

  • Posts:3,713
  • Joined:24-January 10
  • RS Status:Member

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:44 AM

swiftkit isnt that good when it comes to heavy populated areas (i.e. PKRI)

i find google chrome good, the best would obviously be the official runescape client though. (which you can download from www.runescape.com)
R1IV3R0FR3D ~ Death Before Dishonour
L00TD3CT3R ~ The Green Dream
BLEED BLUE ~ No Guts No Glory

#3 Magick

Magick

    outrageous

  • Posts:11,308
  • Joined:28-November 08
  • RS Status:Retired

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:53 AM

You can acquire the RuneScape Client here. Otherwise, Firefoxand Google Chrome work fine.

Posted Image


#4 Umb

Umb

    [Umb] @irc.swiftirc.net

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:22 AM

I'm pretty sure SwiftKit loads runescape according to what you have your default browser set as. (That is if you have 'use default browser' activated in settings, otherwise it will probably load of SwiftBrowse, which is the most unstable and far from user-friendly browser known to man.. Try contacting SwiftKit staff for a better answer. :S

The runescape client crashed alot for me when I used it.

~Rsn:Umb~
~IRC: [Umb]~


Infliction Leader  |  #IF-Lobby  |  IF Site


My YouTube Channel
Posted Image

Memberlist | #IF-Lobby | Forums


#5 Magick

Magick

    outrageous

  • Posts:11,308
  • Joined:28-November 08
  • RS Status:Retired

Posted 04 January 2012 - 11:04 AM

View PostUmb, on 04 January 2012 - 10:22 AM, said:

I'm pretty sure SwiftKit loads runescape according to what you have your default browser set as.

You could not be more wrong lol, here is a tweet from their twitter account:

Posted Image

Posted Image


#6 Umb

Umb

    [Umb] @irc.swiftirc.net

Posted 04 January 2012 - 11:09 AM

View PostMagick, on 04 January 2012 - 11:04 AM, said:

View PostUmb, on 04 January 2012 - 10:22 AM, said:

I'm pretty sure SwiftKit loads runescape according to what you have your default browser set as.

You could not be more wrong lol, here is a tweet from their twitter account:

http://i.imgur.com/vUcvw.png...

Ah well, I don't follow runescape clients on twitter or anything soo..  ;)

Edit: Thanks for the -1. xx

Edited by Umb, 04 January 2012 - 11:11 AM.

~Rsn:Umb~
~IRC: [Umb]~


Infliction Leader  |  #IF-Lobby  |  IF Site


My YouTube Channel
Posted Image

Memberlist | #IF-Lobby | Forums


#7 Rickey

Rickey

    Fission Mailed

  • Posts:799
  • Joined:04-June 06
  • RS Name:King Tibbers
  • RS Status:Retired

Posted 04 January 2012 - 11:44 AM

Opera

Waiting for the clan world to slowly die off.



Idiot.

#8 Nimraynn

Nimraynn

    Junior Member

  • Posts:42
  • Joined:13-August 10
  • RS Name:CDTi
  • RS Status:Free

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:27 PM

To be honest, RuneScape runs on Java, and no matter what browser you use, Java is still Java... so I can't really see there being a browser that would be any better at playing RuneScape than another.

Personally, I use Firefox when I'm using Windows, and Safari when I'm using Mac OS X... Never had a problem with either when playing RuneScape at all....

#9 CakesAreFries

CakesAreFries

    Member

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:13 AM

View PostNimraynn, on 04 January 2012 - 01:27 PM, said:

To be honest, RuneScape runs on Java, and no matter what browser you use, Java is still Java... so I can't really see there being a browser that would be any better at playing RuneScape than another.

Personally, I use Firefox when I'm using Windows, and Safari when I'm using Mac OS X... Never had a problem with either when playing RuneScape at all....
The Windows downloadable client doesn't use Java actually. I know this because I can play Runescape without Java installed. Because of the missing Java layer, the official client should actually be the best "browser" for playing even if it isn't a real browser.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


#10 Simmo

Simmo

    Head of SwiftKit Support Services

Posted 05 January 2012 - 03:21 AM

View PostCakesAreLies, on 05 January 2012 - 12:13 AM, said:

The Windows downloadable client doesn't use Java actually. I know this because I can play Runescape without Java installed. Because of the missing Java layer, the official client should actually be the best "browser" for playing even if it isn't a real browser.

That missing java layer is still there the downloadable client is 99% java (1% c++). Instead of installing java on your computer it packages java all into a single .exe file.

Posted Image


#11 chrisdale737

chrisdale737

    E O S WOOT

Posted 05 January 2012 - 03:24 AM

I use chrome its great!

You also get some free runescape goggles when you log in with chrome

#12 GODSTATUS

GODSTATUS

    Don't You Fake It

Posted 05 January 2012 - 06:11 AM

From my experience and opinion, Opera is the better Browser not just for RuneScape but for Browsing also. But the Official RuneScape Client is best though.

♫ Whatever happened to the Fairness and Equality? ♫

Posted Image

Posted Image Last.fm Profile  | YouTube Channel Posted Image


#13 Tee 3

Tee 3

    d00d!

  • Posts:1,096
  • Joined:09-June 11
  • RS Name:Tee 3
  • RS Status:Retired
  • Clan:Zybeznet

Posted 07 January 2012 - 12:50 AM

Imo, Chrome is superior for EVERYTHING, including RuneScape.

Don't ever use IE. Also wouldn't recommend their client because it stops you from googling information (as I do - i search stuff on rs wiki like every 10 minutes).

Chrome is very fast, very secure, and it lacks annoying drop bars.

My 2 cents.

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


Zybez Blogs Team Member/Guides & Tips CL

Check out my Money-Making and Training for Pvm Guides!


#14 Azeem1992

Azeem1992

    L33T

Posted 07 January 2012 - 02:23 AM

I agree with Tee 3. For me, Firefox and IE keep having problems loading page, but whenever I use Chrome, no problems at all.
Posted Image

#15 Angry Bird

Angry Bird

    Woke up still King.

Posted 07 January 2012 - 04:10 AM

Runescape client would be #1 , Secondly Firefox.

P.S - Opinions might differ , this is just my suggestion :innocent:

Posted Image

    

#Solace    | #EU    | #Team_Morphic


#16 Nimraynn

Nimraynn

    Junior Member

  • Posts:42
  • Joined:13-August 10
  • RS Name:CDTi
  • RS Status:Free

Posted 07 January 2012 - 05:38 AM

View PostCakesAreLies, on 05 January 2012 - 12:13 AM, said:

View PostNimraynn, on 04 January 2012 - 01:27 PM, said:

To be honest, RuneScape runs on Java, and no matter what browser you use, Java is still Java... so I can't really see there being a browser that would be any better at playing RuneScape than another.

Personally, I use Firefox when I'm using Windows, and Safari when I'm using Mac OS X... Never had a problem with either when playing RuneScape at all....
The Windows downloadable client doesn't use Java actually. I know this because I can play Runescape without Java installed. Because of the missing Java layer, the official client should actually be the best "browser" for playing even if it isn't a real browser.

I fail to see how that is possible. The whole game is written in Java and will require the Java runtime to be able to play.

#17 CakesAreFries

CakesAreFries

    Member

Posted 07 January 2012 - 09:56 AM

View PostNimraynn, on 07 January 2012 - 05:38 AM, said:

View PostCakesAreLies, on 05 January 2012 - 12:13 AM, said:

View PostNimraynn, on 04 January 2012 - 01:27 PM, said:

To be honest, RuneScape runs on Java, and no matter what browser you use, Java is still Java... so I can't really see there being a browser that would be any better at playing RuneScape than another.

Personally, I use Firefox when I'm using Windows, and Safari when I'm using Mac OS X... Never had a problem with either when playing RuneScape at all....
The Windows downloadable client doesn't use Java actually. I know this because I can play Runescape without Java installed. Because of the missing Java layer, the official client should actually be the best "browser" for playing even if it isn't a real browser.

I fail to see how that is possible. The whole game is written in Java and will require the Java runtime to be able to play.
http://www.runescape...pe/downloads.ws
Read the little blurb under the windows download button.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


#18 Azeem1992

Azeem1992

    L33T

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:48 PM

It sucks because I can't use rs client due to being in TX..
Posted Image

#19 Simmo

Simmo

    Head of SwiftKit Support Services

Posted 07 January 2012 - 07:49 PM

View PostCakesAreLies, on 07 January 2012 - 09:56 AM, said:

View PostNimraynn, on 07 January 2012 - 05:38 AM, said:

View PostCakesAreLies, on 05 January 2012 - 12:13 AM, said:

View PostNimraynn, on 04 January 2012 - 01:27 PM, said:

To be honest, RuneScape runs on Java, and no matter what browser you use, Java is still Java... so I can't really see there being a browser that would be any better at playing RuneScape than another.

Personally, I use Firefox when I'm using Windows, and Safari when I'm using Mac OS X... Never had a problem with either when playing RuneScape at all....
The Windows downloadable client doesn't use Java actually. I know this because I can play Runescape without Java installed. Because of the missing Java layer, the official client should actually be the best "browser" for playing even if it isn't a real browser.

I fail to see how that is possible. The whole game is written in Java and will require the Java runtime to be able to play.
http://www.runescape...pe/downloads.ws
Read the little blurb under the windows download button.

"(This client doesn't need Java to be installed)"

The key words here that you are missing CakesAreLies is to be install. Nowhere dose it say you do not need java,  you still require java to play it just doesn't have to be installed. That is why Open JDK is included in the download and why a 300kb file is now 22MB Java is included in the download.

Posted Image


#20 Tee 3

Tee 3

    d00d!

  • Posts:1,096
  • Joined:09-June 11
  • RS Name:Tee 3
  • RS Status:Retired
  • Clan:Zybeznet

Posted 07 January 2012 - 08:00 PM

Simmo is correct.

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


Zybez Blogs Team Member/Guides & Tips CL

Check out my Money-Making and Training for Pvm Guides!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Font:
Arial | Calibri | Lucida Console | Verdana
 
Font Size:
9px | 10px | 11px | 12px | 10pt | 12pt
 
Color: